Unforgettable Baked Beans

Ahhhh… Baked Beans!

I was talking with a couple of friends at work, and the subject of food came up. I work in a fast food restaurant, so this happens pretty often! Anyway, I mentioned how good our hamburgers would taste with baked beans. My boss asked if I had a recipe… Boy, do I!

This is the recipe my mom used, and I think my grandma used it before her. To be honest, I don’t measure the ingredients any more. It’s more fun to add approximate amounts and taste (frequently!) until it’s just right.

(The measurements are kind of like the Pirate’s code according to Captain Hector Barbossa, Disney’s ferocious pirate of the Caribbean… “more what you call guidelines than actual rules”.)

So have fun tasting and adjusting ingredients to your preference.

Oh, and these beans aren’t just for supper. They’re also delicious cold, and great to take along on a picnic, with cold fried chicken, and potato salad… brownies… watermelon… iced tea… ahhh… that’s a good memory from my childhood.

picnic tableConsider this a bonus recipe for memories! You just add your favorite people, some cold beer, and a great picnic spot! Then, relax. ; )

BEWARE!!   As I described the recipe to my friends, my boss said “Oh! my husband will love these!”  I must warn you, as I did her,” you may not love him for a while… you might need to sleep in separate rooms!” Some of my funnier childhood memories surround the after effects of these delicious beans… who could fart loudest, longest, and smelliest!! Beano, anyone?

I hope you enjoy making these baked beans, picnic basket mt viewand lots of good memories too!

Baked Beans – Shortcut or Scratch       

Shortcut – Makes 4 servings

3 slices bacon

½ cup chopped onion

one 13 oz. can of pork and beans in tomato sauce

¼ cup ketchup

2 tbsp. brown sugar, or maple syrup, or molasses

2 tsp. prepared mustard

In a skillet, cook bacon, adding onion when there is enough grease in skillet. Cook until onion is tender, but not brown. Drain grease. (You can skip this step if you’re in a hurry.)

To bake in oven, in 1 ½ quart casserole dish, combine all ingredients and bake at 350 degrees for about an hour, or to desired consistency

To cook on stove top, in a medium saucepan, combine all ingredients and cook over low heat about 15 minutes or to desired consistency, stirring frequently.

Scratch… Mmmmm! Makes 10-12 servingsbaked beans

1 lb. dry navy beans, great northern beans, or red beans

¼ lb. bacon or salt pork, cut up

1 cup chopped onion

½ cup maple syrup or molasses

¼ cup brown sugar

1 tbsp. prepared mustard

½ cup ketchup

½ tsp. salt

¼ tsp. pepper

Rinse beans. In a 4 ½ quart Dutch oven* combine beans and 8 cups cold water. Bring to boiling; reduce heat. Simmer for 2 minutes. Remove from heat. Cover and let stand for 1 hour. (Or skip boiling water and soak beans overnight in a covered pan.) Drain and rinse beans.

In the same pan combine beans and 8 cups fresh water. Bring to boiling: reduce heat. Cover and simmer about 1 ¼ hours or till tender, stirring occasionally. Drain beans, reserving liquid.

In a skillet, cook bacon, adding onion when there is enough grease in skillet. Cook until onion is tender, but not brown. Drain grease. (You can skip this step if you’re in a hurry.)

In a 2 ½ quart casserole or bean pot combine cooked beans, bacon and onion (cooked or not, your choice). Stir in 1 cup of reserved bean liquid, molasses or maple syrup, brown sugar, mustard, salt, and pepper.

Bake, covered in a 300 degree oven about 2 ½ hours or to desired consistency, stirring occasionally. If necessary, add additional reserved bean liquid.

*Or use a crock pot/slow cooker and follow time/temp directions for beans. I soak my dry beans overnight, then slow cook them the next morning. That afternoon, I combine ingredients in the crock pot and a couple of hours later, we have baked beans for supper.

About Gail

I'm married with 2 grown kids and their spouses. We have 3 adopted fur babies! I'm retired and spend my time crocheting, knitting, reading novels, writing, and gardening. I have a couple of chronic illnesses, so life can be challenging. I do my best to meet the challenges head on! This blog is where I can share different things that I learn along the way, as well as stories I make up! Thanks for joining me!
This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

